Chicken broth is every cook’s best friend. It is a light, tasty liquid that you can quickly make by simmering the chicken’s meaty parts. You can add it to soups or other dishes as the base – or simply jazz up the preparation method to eat it all by itself. But is chicken broth gluten free?
Chicken broth made using a traditional and simple recipe is gluten free unless it contains thickeners. Commercially produced chicken broth and bouillon cubes may have gluten-containing additives. We cannot ignore the chances of cross-contamination, either.
Generally considered safe for everyone, chicken broth may have some hidden gluten content that will harm you. So how will you ensure that the broth you’re about to have – whether home-cooked, prepped in a restaurant, or bought in the form of a cube – is safe for you? Let’s find out!
Table of Contents
- 1 What is Chicken Broth?
- 2 Is Chicken Broth Gluten Free?
- 3 How can celiac patients be sure a broth is safe?
- 4 Health Benefits of Chicken Broth
- 5 Gluten Free Chicken Broth Recipe
- 6 Gluten Free Chicken Broth Brands
- 7 Final Words
What is Chicken Broth?
Chicken broth is a light liquid filled with the goodness of chicken. It is cooked by simmering the fleshy part of a chicken, i.e., carcass, skin, and meat, in water. You may confuse it with chicken stock, which is cooked by simmering chicken bones in water to extract gelatin for a thickened liquid.
Since chicken broth contains the goodness of chicken without the hassle of extracting the bone gelatin, it takes a lot less time to cook. The result is light but flavorsome because, during the preparation process, herbs, spices, and vegetables are usually added along with the chicken parts.
Thus, on a cold winter evening or a morning when you feel feverish, you can simply enjoy some plain chicken broth. That’s why it is a staple in America and European countries! You can also use it as a base for any soup, gravy, pasta, risotto, gumbo, etc., instead of the time-consuming chicken stock.
A lot of restaurants and local eateries also offer chicken broth. In addition, you can buy chicken broth in the form of ready-to-cook bouillon cubes or liquids. However, their health benefits are questionable as they usually contain flavoring agents, preservatives, too much sodium, etc.
The difference between stock and chicken is the use of bones in the first and cooking for a longer time, as opposed to using meaty parts in broth and cooking it for a shorter time. But the two terms are often used synonymously now. Some cooks use both bones and meat in their broth recipes.
Is Chicken Broth Gluten Free?
Ideally, chicken broth is gluten free, as it contains nothing but the meaty parts of a chicken. These are simmered in water, often with herbs, spices, and vegetables, to give you a flavorful and filling liquid that can be prepared quickly. There is no use of gluten grains in such a traditional recipe.
However, there are a few things you need to be careful about when you choose to buy commercially prepared chicken broth – whether at a restaurant or from a brand. That’s because these may contain additives to enhance the flavors and longevity of the broth – which may have hidden gluten.
Chicken broth may contain thickeners, flavoring agents, texture enhancers, etc. Check the label on packaged chicken broth to ensure that none of them have possible gluten ingredients. Commercially produced chicken broth, whether in restaurant food or packaged food, may contain gluten.
Another probable cause of gluten content in chicken broth is cross-contamination. This can happen in a restaurant or home kitchen if the utensils, storage units, etc., are common, and there is some faulty cleaning. It can also happen if there is double-dipping, which must be avoided.
As for packaged chicken broth varieties that come in cartons, cans, bouillon cubes, etc., cross-contamination is a possibility if the manufacturing and processing facilities are shared with gluten-containing products. So, don’t hesitate to place queries with the brand or restaurant.
The best option, however, is to either prepare your chicken broth at home in a completely clean, gluten free environment with nothing but gluten free ingredients. You can look for gluten free restaurants in your locality and find certified gluten free brands for ready-made versions.
Related Post:- Is Snack Pack Pudding Gluten Free?
How can celiac patients be sure a broth is safe?
If you must follow a gluten free lifestyle, you must follow certain steps to ensure that everything you eat or drink is entirely gluten free. The first step is to use gluten free ingredients in your kitchen. Your chicken broth should contain such safe ingredients. Also, keep your kitchen and utensils clean.
As for restaurants, make sure to ask the kitchen or restaurant staff about the steps they take to ensure your safety. But what about packaged food? You can always look for the “gluten free” label, which is a sign that their products and facilities are tested to make sure that the final broth is gluten free.
You can also look at the list of ingredients. Some packaged chicken broth varieties contain thickeners with ingredients like flour, wheat starch, barley, maltodextrin, etc. – all of which should be avoided. Some flavor enhancers like autolyzed yeast extract or natural flavors may hide gluten.
Hydrolyzed wheat protein is another ingredient used in commercially produced chicken broth as it has emulsifying properties. Choose a brand that at least makes it a point to mention that its products may contain gluten – so that you can be sure that what you buy and consume may contain gluten.
Health Benefits of Chicken Broth
The reason chicken broth is so popular is that it is full of health benefits – besides the fact that it is easy and quick to prepare. Whether or not you add vegetables to the broth, it is still a wholesome addition to your diet – full of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, selenium, fatty acids, and carnosine.
Everyone knows that chicken broth is much like a soul food that soothes you when you’re cold or ill. That’s because it’s healthy and full of nutrients. It is an excellent choice when you suffer from flu or food poisoning when every other food or beverage feels too heavy, spicy, or even nauseating.
It can clear airways, enable mucus movement, and release nasal congestion. It is also known to reduce inflammation, boost your body’s hydration, and replenish electrolytes. Chicken broth is great for weight management. It is a low-calorie substitute for high-fat stocks, soups, and bases.
Gluten Free Chicken Broth Recipe
So, is chicken broth gluten free and safe for you? If you follow a rustic, old-school recipe to cook it at home, you don’t need to worry about the gluten content as much as you do when you buy it from the restaurant or use packaged broth. The good news is that chicken broth is easy to make at home.
Here’s a recipe for a gluten free chicken broth that, when cooked in a clean kitchen, is safe for you:
- Chicken parts (carcasses, wings, necks, legs and thighs, etc.) – 3 lb
- Onion (large) – 2 (diced medium, with peel)
- Celery stack – 6
- Carrot/parsnip/turnip – 4
- Parsley – 1 bunch
- Ginger – 1 piece (1 inch)
- Garlic – 6 cloves
- Bayleaf – 2
- Vegetable oil – 1 tbsp
- Water – 2 quarts
- Kosher salt – 1 tsp
- Cut the chicken into 2-inch pieces and set aside.
- Coarsely chop celery stalks, carrots, parsnips, turnips, parsley, ginger, and garlic. (Remember that these are optional; you can use as many or as few as you want.)
- Turn the heat of the stove on to medium-high.
- Set a large, heavy-bottomed pot on it.
- Put the oil into the pot and let it heat.
- When the oil shimmers, add chopped onions, carrots, parsnips, turnips, ginger, and garlic, along with the chicken pieces.
- Saute for about 5-7 minutes until the chicken pieces are not pink anymore.
- Bring the heat down to Low and cover the pot. Let it sit like that for 15-20 minutes.
- Increase the heat to High and uncover the pot. Add water, salt, bay leaves, and celery.
- Allow the water to come to a simmer. Then reduce the heat again to Low and cover the pot. Let it cook for around 20-30 minutes.
- Strain and remove the solid parts.
Your gluten free chicken broth is ready. You can follow a few other tips to make the broth even better. Add 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar along with the water for a well-rounded flavor profile. Add bony parts like feet and breast bones, and cook for 1-2 hr for a fuller taste and texture.
Gluten Free Chicken Broth Brands
If you are not in the mood to cook chicken broth at home, a low-sodium broth available in a can, carton, or bouillon cube may solve your problem. Let’s take a look at some of the best gluten free chicken broth brands that you can use in your kitchen for a quick bowl of chicken-enriched base.
- Kettle & Fire (certified)
- Imagine (certified)
- Meijer (labeled)
- Simple Truth Organic (labeled)
- College Inn (as claimed on the website)
Is chicken broth gluten free? The answer depends on the recipe. Traditionally, a simple recipe for chicken broth does not require the use of gluten components. However, restaurants and packaged food brands often use gluten-containing additives in old-school chicken broth.
Beware of thickeners, flavoring agents, texture enhancers, and preservatives added to store-bought or packaged chicken broth. While there are gluten free chicken broth brands, it is best to cook a large batch at home in a clean environment with no possibility of cross-contamination.
In summary: Chicken broth is usually gluten-free because its core ingredients are naturally gluten-free. However, store-bought varieties sometimes include gluten-containing flavorings and preservatives.Can celiacs have chicken broth? ›
Conclusion. Chicken stock and chicken broth made with natural ingredients are 100% gluten-free. They are not only safe for people with celiac or any gluten-free sensitivities but are health-promoting and should be a part of your weekly diet.What makes chicken broth not gluten-free? ›
Cooking. Broth ~ The unsafe gluten ingredient that can be present in commercially prepared chicken broth, beef broth, or stock is usually wheat. Therefore, wheat will be shown on the ingredients label. Similarly, some chicken bouillon can contain gluten.What kind of chicken broth is gluten-free? ›
Swanson 100% Natural, Gluten-Free Chicken Broth, 8 Oz Quick Cups (Pack of 4)Does Swanson chicken broth have gluten? ›
Enhance the flavor of your favorite sauces and gravy with Swanson 100% Natural Chicken Broth. It's low in fat and gluten free, with no preservatives or artificial flavors.Is Swanson chicken broth celiac safe? ›
There is no wheat in this product, just yeast extract and autolyzed yeast extract which is basically msg, but totally gluten free. It's what makes broth... brothy...Is Swanson chicken broth gluten and dairy free? ›
No, Swanson Chicken Broth is not gluten-free.Can celiacs eat rotisserie chicken? ›
Yes, someone with celiac disease can eat rotisserie chicken but you need to verify there are no gluten-containing ingredients in the seasoning and that the chicken was prepared in an environment without any potential risk of cross-contact.Is there gluten in Campbell's chicken broth? ›
Yes! We believe this product is Wheat free as there are no Wheat ingredients listed on the label.Is Better Than bouillon chicken broth gluten-free? ›
Is Better Than Bouillon gluten free? No, Better Than Bouillon is made in a facility where wheat ingredients are housed. We do not test our Better Than Bouillon products or ingredients contained therein for gluten, so we cannot certify that any ingredient is gluten free.
Yes, BOU chicken, vegetable, and beef bouillon cubes are gluten-free.Is Walmart's chicken broth gluten-free? ›
No, Great Value Chicken Broth is not gluten-free.Does Worcestershire have gluten? ›
Ingredients. The original Worcestershire sauce included barley malt vinegar, making it unsafe for someone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. However, there are many different versions of Worcestershire sauce, including gluten-free versions.Does sour cream have gluten? ›
Plain sour cream is gluten-free, so it's safe to eat for those on a diet free from gluten.Does cream cheese have gluten? ›
Check the ingredient list to make sure. Read more about “modified food starch” in Answers from a Dietitian. Cream cheese is gluten-free.Which Campbell's broths are gluten-free? ›
- 50% Less Sodium Beef Broth.
- Unsalted Beef Stock.
- Unsalted Beef Broth.
- Low Sodium Organic Chicken Broth.
- Natural Goodness® 33% Less Sodium Chicken Broth.
- Unsalted Chicken Broth.
Is tomato paste gluten free? Yes! In almost all instances, tomato paste is gluten free. Tomato paste is made with tomatoes and citric acid, which acts as a preservative.Can you have bone broth if you have gluten sensitivity? ›
“Bone broth is certainly a gluten-free choice, and we always want more of those,” Jones says. “If a person with celiac disease asked me, I would say it's probably not going to hurt you. … But don't expect it to cure your immune system or heal your knee pain.”What is the difference between Swanson chicken broth and chicken stock? ›
What is the difference between Swanson's cooking stock and broth? Technically speaking, homemade broth is made from meat, bones, and vegetables, while stock is made strictly from bones and vegetables.Does heavy cream have gluten? ›
Answer: Is Heavy Cream Gluten Free? Yes, if you buy plain and unflavored whipping cream, heavy cream is gluten free. Heavy cream is only made from milk, and therefore it is gluten free. There aren't any cross-contamination concerns as nothing else is processed on the same equipment.
Tomato sauce is typically made of tomatoes, vegetables and spices which are all naturally gluten-free. Although most tomato sauce is gluten-free, it's always a good idea to check the nutrition label for any wheat ingredients.What is Swanson chicken broth made of? ›
Chicken Stock, Salt, Natural Flavoring, Chicken Fat, Yeast Extract, Carrot Juice Concentrate, Celery Juice Concentrate, Onion Juice Concentrate.Can celiac eat KFC? ›
If you have a gluten sensitivity unfortunately KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken) is not the place to eat chicken. None of KFC's chicken is gluten-free. You can, however, eat some of their side dishes and salads.Can celiacs eat chicken salt? ›
Is chicken salt gluten free? Yes! Chicken salt does not contain gluten. It does contain Monosodium glutamate (flavour enhancer 621) but there is no gluten in MSG and so can be eaten by people with coeliac disease.Can celiacs eat fried chicken? ›
Fried foods, such as french fries, fried chicken, fried fish, and mozzarella sticks usually contain gluten, so you should avoid these foods as well.Which soups are gluten-free? ›
- Gluten-Free Chicken Tortilla Soup. ...
- Chicken and Rice. ...
- Chili. ...
- Gluten-Free Potato Soup. ...
- Beet Soup. ...
- White Chicken Chili. ...
- Gluten-Free Chicken Soup. ...
- Cauliflower Soup.
Bottom Line: The Progresso Homestyle Soups (in the white cans) appear to be gluten free; however, “gluten-free” labeled cans of Progresso soup (in the blue cans) may contain detectable levels of gluten.Is Lipton noodle soup gluten-free? ›
Contains Wheat and Their Derivatives,Eggs and Their Derivatives,Other gluten Containing Grain and Gluten Containing Grain Products,Soybean and its Derivatives,Milk and its Derivatives,Corn and Its Derivatives.
But is Velveeta gluten-free? SHORT ANSWER: Yes! Velveeta is a gluten-free processed cheese product. It's made from dairy milk and a list of other ingredients, but it does not include wheat or any other source of gluten.Does soy sauce have gluten? ›
Despite its name, soy sauce is not made solely from soy in many cases. Instead, soy sauce is usually made with wheat, soybeans, salt and water, which means most soy sauces contain gluten. However, some soy sauces are gluten-free, making these varieties an option even if you're on a gluten-free diet.
Bisto Gluten Free Gravy Granules are quick and easy to prepare, helping you to create delicious homemade meals to enjoy together with friends and family. Simply put 3 teaspoons (18g) of Bisto Gluten Free Gravy Granules into a measuring jug - for an extra thick gravy, add more granules at this point.Does Campbell's real chicken stock contain gluten? ›
Is the range gluten free? Chicken : While we do not test for gluten, Campbell's Chicken Bone Broth is made without any wheat, rye, barley, oats or spelt.Does great value chicken broth have gluten? ›
No, Great Value Chicken Broth is not gluten-free.Does chicken bouillon have gluten? ›
Yes, BOU chicken, vegetable, and beef bouillon cubes are gluten-free.What kind of soup is gluten-free? ›
Many types of Progresso soups are gluten-free, namely the Traditional New England Clam Chowder, Chicken and Wild Rice, Vegetable Classics Lentil, Traditional Split Pea With Ham, Manhattan Clam Chowder, Vegetable Classics French Onion, Rich & Hearty Slow Cooked Vegetable Beef, Traditional Chicken Tortilla, and ...Why is Campbell's tomato soup not gluten free? ›
Campbell's tomato soup is not gluten free because it contains wheat flour in the recipe.What canned chicken is gluten free? ›
Living up to Swanson's tradition of simple ingredients, our ready-to-eat, fully cooked chicken chunks contain no antibiotics or added MSG. This premium white chicken meat is 98% fat free, gluten free and an excellent source of protein, with 18 grams in each 4.5-ounce can.Can you drink Campbell's chicken broth? ›
Can I drink the broth? Yes!Does cream of chicken have gluten? ›
Campbell's Cream of Chicken soup is not gluten-free. In fact, if you live in the US, there are no currently no Campbell's soups that are gluten-free.Is Kirkland chicken bone broth gluten-free? ›
Our organic bone broths are also dairy-free, non-GMO, gluten-free. No hormones, antibiotics, or additives ever.